Call for Papers

6th Latin-American Network Operations and Management Symposium
October 19th-21st, 2009
Barradas Hotel
Punta del Este, Uruguay

Technically co-sponsored by the IEEE/IFIP/WG 6.6 (pending)


The 6th Latin American Network Operations and Management Symposium (LANOMS 2009) will be held on October 19th-21st, 2008 at the Conrad Resort & Casino in Punta del Este, Uruguay. LANOMS 2009 will offer the latest technical advances in all aspects of the operation and management of distributed infrastructures, including networks, application services and distributed systems in general. LANOMS has been held in odd-numbered years since 1999 and pursues the tradition of the NOMS and APNOMS events.

LANOMS 2009 is promoted by the University of the Republic of Uruguay (UdelaR). It aims to be the primary forum in Latin America for the exchange of ideas and results among the research, standards, vendor and user communities in the field of operations and management. The symposium is co-sponsored by the International Federation for Information Processing (IFIP) Working Group 6.6 on Management of Networks and Distributed Systems , and by the IEEE Communications Society (pending).

Several types of sessions will be held at LANOMS 2009.

Technical sessions will be held for the presentation of full scientific papers discussing recent research results.
Poster sessions are directed for more informal interactions and presenting work in progress. Short papers can be submitted for consideration as poster presentations. Posters will be selected from these short papers and full papers.
Application sessions aim to complement the Technical Sessions with contributions that emphasize practical experiences and lessons learnt in conjunction with management technology. They will focus on aspects such as real-world deployment scenarios, experiences with the management of new services and technology, industrial applications of management technology, implementation examples of new management technology, organizational impact, and business cases. The intended audience especially includes decision makers and experts from industry.

Travel Grants:

Thanks to the supporting organizations, LANOMS 2009 has a travel grants program. Authors of outstanding papers can apply. Please contact Travel Grants Chair Martin Giachino at

Paper submissions:

Paper submissions will undergo a rigorous review process performed by the Technical Program Committee, which includes the most respected experts in the field. We encourage the submission of papers that present new research results or that present insightful results based on experience with the operation and management of networks, systems, applications and services.The LANOMS 2009 invites authors from all over the world to submit original and unpublished work to both technical and application tracks. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:


Management Paradigms, Models, Theories and Architectures

Enabling Management Technologies

Operation and Management Functions

IT Service Management

Management of Emerging Networks and Services

And special topics of interest to Latin America such as:

Important Dates

Submission Instructions

Authors are invited to submit original contributions in PDF format through the LANOMS 2009 web site. Papers must be written in English. Only original papers that have not been published or submitted for publication elsewhere can be submitted. Self-plagiarized papers and multiple submissions will be rejected without further review.

Full papers should not exceed the limit of 12 pages. Short papers should not exceed the limit of 4 pages. Format full and short papers using the IEEE 2-column style. Sample files and templates can be downloaded from the LANOMS 2009 Web site. Application papers consist of annotated slides and should have a visual in the upper half of a page and the explanatory text in the lower half, following the current IM/NOMS format, and should not exceed 12 visuals in PDF only. A PowerPoint template and a sample PDF file can be downloaded from the LANOMS Web site as well.

All selected papers will be published in the LANOMS proceedings. All papers appearing in the proceedings will be included in IEEExplore. Authors of scientific papers (full and short) should submit a PDF file at Please select “Poster session” if you are submitting a short paper. Authors of application papers should submit at Please prepare your submission to the application session using this template..

Submission implies the willingness of at least one of the authors to register and present the paper, if accepted.

Extended versions of selected excellent papers will be submitted for fast-track publication in Computer Communications Journal (Elsevier)

Organizing Committee

Nazim Agoulmine (nazim.agoulmine at
University of Evry Val d'Essonne

Eduardo Grampín (grampin at
University of the Republic of Uruguay

Javier Baliosian (javierba at
University of the Republic of Uruguay

Lisandro Zambenedetti Granville (granville at
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul

Héctor Cancela
University of the Republic of Uruguay

Jose Neuman de Souza
Federal University of Ceara

Pablo Rodriguez-Bocca
University of the Republic of Uruguay

Martin Giachino
University of the Republic of Uruguay


Steering Committee

Rolf Stadler

Joan Serrat

Luciano P. Gaspary

Bruno Schulze

Carlos B. Westphall

Gonzalo Perera

Pablo Belzarena

José Neuman de Souza
 (Brazil )

Technical Program Committee

Abdelmalek Benzekri
Université Paul Sabatier

Aldri dos Santos
Universidade Federal do Paraná

Antonio Alfredo Ferreira Loureiro

Ariel Sabiguero
Instituto de Computación, Universidad de la República

Artur Ziviani

Bruno Schulze

Carlos Westphall
Federal Uiversity of Santa Catarina

Ed Pinnes
Telcordia Technologies

Edmundo Monteiro
University of Coimbra

Eduardo Grampin
Universidad de la Republica de Uruguay

Fátima Duarte-Figueiredo
PUC Minas

Franco Robledo
Universidad de la República

Hanan Lutfiyya
University of Western Ontario

Hector Cancela
Universidad de la Republica

James Hong

Javier Baliosian
University of the Republic

Javier Barria
Imperial College London

Joan Serrat
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya

José De Souza

José Piquer
Universidad de Chile

Jose-Marcos Nogueira

Linnyer Ruiz

Lisandro Zambenedetti Granville

Luciano Paschoal Gaspary

Lundy Lewis
Southern New Hampshire University

Mauro Tortonesi
University of Ferrara

Mehmet Ulema
Manhattan College

Nazim Agoulmine
University of Evry

Pablo Belzarena
Universidad de la República

Pablo Rodríguez-Bocca
Universidad de la República

Paulo Simoes
University of Coimbra

Rossana Andrade

Tereza Carvalho